I didn’t actually kill the jasmine

After what looks like years of neglect by the previous owners (spot a theme?) the jasmine pulled itself off the wall a few weeks ago, and collapsed over much of the front garden:

IMG_20160815_195145_421

I did try to trim it over winter, but didn’t want to do too much as it tends to flower on the last season’s growth, so any trim would reduce the number of flowers. It clearly wasn’t enough, though. Even before the Great Collapse, the jasmine had apparently invaded the old boiler through its vent, strangling it. We only discovered this when we replaced it.

Sadly, when I started cutting the plant back hard but—I hoped—selectively, it all started to fall forward, making ominous cracking noises as the remaining few wires holding it back pinged like guitar strings:

IMG_20160815_195226_167

As I found myself vainly working my way around the damaged areas, the sprawling areas, and combinations of the two, I realized the only solution was to hack it back utterly, and it was a shadow of its former self that ultimately sagged and whimpered against the wall:

IMG_20160815_203349_807

As a few more branches died off in the subsequent weeks, I’d reconciled myself to the fact that I’d basically killed it with the shock. But! only yesterday, we spotted considerable new shoots, budding off every part of it, including the old wood:

2016-09-05_08-40-26

I’m still reserving judgment on whether it will put on enough growth to survive the winter. But I now have my fingers crossed that we’ll still have a jasmine by the front door next year. And flowers in 2018!

3 comments

  1. Julieanne · September 5, 2016

    I believe it’s hard to kill Jasmine. Since it has new shoots, cut it back to those & retrain it?

    Like

  2. karen · September 8, 2016

    I”m just about to do the very same job. My jasmine is a monster!

    Like

    • jpstacey · September 8, 2016

      Well, unlike with most zombies, it looks like if you cut the head off this particular monster it does keep on going. Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

