The spirepose or “sprout bag”

I’m always happy to receive odd gardening innovations as presents, as I wouldn’t buy them for myself: the ecopotagator is in its second year, only suffering from the rather poor compost that I used for some planting.

This year, for my birthday, I got a “spirepose”, or sprout bag. From what I can find online, this is some kind of traditional Scandinavian method of growing small sprout seeds. The company Flying Tiger produce these foil-lined bags, which I think is what I’ve got:

Spirepose at Flying Tiger

How was mine, then, at growing oregano? In a word, hopeless:

IMG_20170603_114752022

This one tiny sprout died shortly afterwards. I think I followed the instructions properly:

2017-07-02_11-08-47

But the soil level in the bag I found was much lower than those diaagrams imply.

To be honest, I’m not convinced these would ever work. The foil-lined bag is too likely to either waterlog or dry out; the growing medium (which appears to be moss, groan, with perlite) doesn’t seem particularly forthcoming with nutrients, and the bag too deep to let light in. I did later on trim the sprout bag down somewhat more, to try to get more light to the seeds, but perhaps the depth is the point, to encourage sprouting.

Either way, I’m not convinced the spirepose is for me. A bit too wasteful, even if it had worked. Nice to try it out, though!

2 comments

  1. Julieanne · 12 Days Ago

    I’ve often wondered about such things, with suspicion. It seems my suspicions were right! At least we know now 🙂

    Like

    • J-P · 5 Days Ago

      Yeah, I think you’ve got to look at it like a growing medium: would seeds and seedlings be happy in this? It was worth trying, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

